Go Confidently In The Direction Of Your Dreams

“… The Lord is in control. He knows the end from the beginning. He has given us adequate instruction that, if followed, will see us safely through any crisis. His purposes will be fulfilled, and someday we will understand the eternal reasons for all of these events. Therefore, today we must be careful not to overreact, nor should we be caught up in extreme preparations; but what we must do is keep the commandments of God and never lose hope! “

571940c2b08798b37e450ec7377af59e

This has spoken to me on so many levels lately. I think it is important to always remember this when we are stressing or having a hard time keeping eternal perspective. The lord is in control. He knows what we need. We can go to him for direction and guidance. But then we must also be willing to trust his answer. It doesn’t always come right away. But it does come. & the feeling of comfort is always there when we ask in sincere prayer.

Satan is real.

He really tries to tear us down.

Opposition and adversity come.

He tries to make us feel inadequate.

He gives us distractions

( Like all these cute boys asking you on dates right before your mission; It really happens. Like where were you a few months ago bro).

Anyways!

He also gives us stress.

He hurts us

Not only does he mess with us mentally but he can also hurt us in so many other ways.

No matter who you are, he is always there.

You hear this a lot as you prepare for a mission, that Satan will try everything to get you to stay. To make you feel inadequate and make you doubt yourself.

Something I’ve recently learned is,

He puts in a lot of effort

For example,

A real struggle my family is facing is employment.

Right as I was approaching my last stretch of mission paperwork

my dad got layed-off his job.

and so did my mom.

yeah, not good.

Anyways!

The good news is..

(pause for dramatic affect)

Just like Satan is a very real person. Prayer is a very real thing.

Satan tries to tear us down, but god is stronger and will make it a strengthening experience for us.

How lucky are we to have the gift to pray?

Anyone can pray.

God is our father and he wants to hear from us.

& he wants to help us. He will answer our prayers

I know this

He has answered my families prayers as we figure out what to do about employment. He has not left us. He will never leave. He has blessed us. My mom found a part-time job and my dad is currently working towards a new one.

Life hits sometimes. It hits hard. But we cannot let those moments in our life define us. We need to realize that god has a plan. Maybe there is a better job and better work ahead for my parents. Maybe we will win the lottery!    Justkidding, we don’t gamble. But what I’m saying is, when life takes away from us, usually it is given us something better. I believe my parents struggles and their perseverance will someday be the greatest blessing for them.

There is always a rainbow after the rain, my friend.

( Insert rainbow emoji)

I know that I am supposed to go on a mission

That is the most important thing I can be doing with my life at this time

There is someone out there who needs me. & there are people out there that I need.

There are people waiting to hear my story and hear the gospel.

I know these struggles are temporary and if we have faith and push forward, they will work out.

The gospel is eternal.

God is eternal. & we are eternal beings

Whenever I had feelings of doubt I would find talks on lds.org that would be exactly what I needed to hear,

Here are a few:

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2013/10/come-join-with-us?lang=eng&query=doubt+your+doubt

https://www.lds.org/ensign/2000/03/cast-not-away-therefore-your-confidence?lang=eng

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2013/04/lord-i-believe?lang=eng&query=lord+i+believe

https://www.ldsjobs.org/ers/ct/articles/principles-to-help-your-family-during-unemployment?lang=eng

https://www.lds.org/liahona/2015/06/young-adults/trusting-in-the-assurances-of-the-lord?cid=HP_FR_6-5-2015_dPTH_fLHNA_xLIDyL2-4_&lang=eng

These are only a few of the links that have really helped me

LDS.ORG isn’t just for members of the church. It really is for everyone. It has things that can help people from all walks of life.

I encourage you to check it out!

A few quotes I really love from those links are..

“Doubt your doubts before you doubt your faith”

-Uchtdorf

“It is the plain and very sobering truth that before great moments, certainly before great spiritual moments, there can come adversity, opposition, and darkness. Life has some of those moments for us, and occasionally they come just as we are approaching an important decision or a significant step in our lives.” -Holland

(HELLO RELEVANCE)

Alright, and the last quote. It’s pretty long but so worth reading:

“You will recall that the book of Moses begins with him being taken up to “an exceedingly high mountain” where, the scripture says, “he saw God face to face, and he talked with him, and the glory of God was upon Moses.” What then followed was what happens to prophets who are taken to high mountains. The Lord said to Moses:

“Look, and I will show thee the workmanship of mine hands. … Moses looked, and … beheld the earth, yea, even all of it; and there was not a particle of it which he did not behold, discerning it by the spirit of God. And he beheld also the inhabitants thereof, and there was not a soul which he beheld not.” 3

This experience is remarkable by every standard. It is one of the great revelations given in human history. It stands with the greatest accounts we have of any prophet’s experience with Divinity.

But Moses’ message to you today is: Don’t let your guard down. Don’t assume that a great revelation, some marvelous, illuminating moment, the opening of an inspired path, is the end of it. Remember, it isn’t over until it’s over.

What happens to Moses next, after his revelatory moment, would be ludicrous if it were not so dangerous and so true to form. Lucifer—in an effort to continue his opposition, in his unfailing effort to get his licks in later if not sooner—appears and shouts in equal portions of anger and petulance after God has revealed Himself to the prophet: “Moses, worship me.” But Moses is not having it. He has just seen the real thing, and by comparison this sort of performance is pretty dismal.

“Moses looked upon Satan and said: Who art thou? … Where is thy glory, that I should worship thee?

“For behold, I could not look upon God, except his glory should come upon me. … But I can look upon thee in the natural man. …

“Where is thy glory, for it is darkness unto me? And I can judge between thee and God. …

“Get thee hence, Satan; deceive me not.”

The record then depicts a reaction that is both pathetic and frightening:

“And now, when Moses had said these words, Satan cried with a loud voice, and ranted upon the earth, and commanded, saying: I am the Only Begotten, worship me.

“And it came to pass that Moses began to fear exceedingly; and as he began to fear, he saw the bitterness of hell. Nevertheless, calling upon God [the very phrase used by Joseph Smith], he received strength, and he commanded, saying: Depart from me, Satan, for this one God only will I worship, which is the God of glory.

“And now Satan began to tremble, and the earth shook. …

“And it came to pass that Satan cried with a loud voice, with weeping, and wailing, and gnashing of teeth; and he departed hence,” 4 always to come again, we can be sure, but always to be defeated by the God of glory—always.

ALWAYS

I know what Jeffery R. Holland says is true. I know that things tend to get hard right before they get better. But because of our savior, they do get better. We really are strong, we really are brave, and we really can endure. We can do this, and with god, no temptations or fears can stop us.

WE GOT THIS

Stay Humble. Be kind. Work Hard. Live Courageously.

Leave a Reply

