The importance of family history

family work

I can testify of this.

My grandma, being the amazing woman that she is, loves to do family history work.

She has notebook, and journals, charts, and pictures of all my ancestors.

She gives notebooks of our family history to every single one of her children.

She has ten!

One being my mother.

So,  on Sunday I found them & I decided to read them.

It was so cool!

I found so much in common with my great grandpa by reading stories of him when he was a kid. He was a cool guy!

ggc

Something that I learned that I didn’t know is that him and my great grandma were childhood sweehearts! They both grew up in Pleasant Grove, Utah and met when they were very young & they got married when they were older! He used to tell her that he would marry her. How freaking cute is that????

They had 8 kids.

One being my grandma, Mary Jean.

My grandparents met at BYU,

and so did my parents!

Hey hey BYU boys where ya at.

just kidding. kinda.

Anyways!

I also learned that my grandpa hated school, just like me.

He is very talented though. He could fix about anything. and he flew planes. He actually flew pigs on a plane once.

So pigs do fly.

Thank you Grandpa Caldwell.

He also served a mission in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Him and his wife went back to serve as a couple there many years later.

My grandpa on my dad’s side was born in Japan!

grandpa

He is american but his parents were serving a mission together as a couple in Japan & they had him!

He had 4 siblings.

He spoke japanese so fluently that in WW2 he was the person that talked to the prisoners of war, because no one else could understand them.

He also served a mission in Hawaii speaking Japanese.

My grandma on my dad’s side is from Germany.

ggl

(Look at his hands… you’ll know why soon).

Cool story: Her dad was actually put in the war on the german side during WW1 (They lived in germany). He said that when he was put on the battlefield the first time he prayed to God so earnestly. He said that he never wanted to kill anyone. & so he told God that if he could somehow survive this war without having to kill anyone he would straighten up and find the true church and be a righteous disciple all of his days. Lo and behold, he was taken out of the war soon after that & when he got home the missionaries talked to him on the street- he was baptised soon after that!

He moved with his family to the United States right before WW2,

He worked in a glass factory before the great depression and his hand got cut-off one day… so he was given a hook. What! luckily, the penchant he recieved from his work helped him support his family as well as a few others during the depression.

The lord works in mysterious ways.

Alright, sorry for that long history. But i thought that was so cool!

gc

I also learned more about my grandma. She has always been my favorite. I like to think that we are a lot alike. She is spunky, and sassy, she doesn’t sugar-coat things but she is never rude. She is genuine so you know when she says something, she means it. I’m clearly not as awesome as her, but I have a few years.

Researching my ancestors has blessed my life in more ways then I thought it could. I never knew my great grandpas, or my great great grandpas. They died before I was born. They lived a full life- one that I didn’t know. & their decisions have shaped every aspect of my life. and because I can learn about them, I feel like I do know them. I feel a part of them in my life. When I make decisions I think of my ancestors, of my great grandpa Calvin, and I remember the sacrifices they made in their lifetime- so that their children and posterity could be blessed and live a good life. I am so thankful for them! & i feel it a duty of mine to continue learning of them, teaching my children about them, and the amazing people that they were.

If you want to learn about your ancestors this is a really cool website to help you do that!

https://familysearch.org/

Do it!

A quote that I really like from Neal A. Maxwell,

“Though we have rightly applauded our ancestors for their spiritual achievements, those of us who prevail today, will have done no small deed”

Remember that we are living a life that our posterity will learn about. Try to be the best person that you can be. Write about your experiences. Let your grandchildren learn about who you are, through journals and pictures. Give them words of advice and encouragements. Do all that you can to help them in their lives.

journalsss

Remember who you are. And whose you are.

Leave a Reply

