Opening My Mission Call

california-state-flag_bigger

Dear Sister Lee you are hereby called to serve as a missionary of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the California, Irvine Mission.

I report August 5th, 2015. Teaching in the English language.

Im going to California!

Sunshine!

Some things about this mission is:

It’s in orange county, California. Most of the areas are along the coast. (WHAT!) It contains Laguna Beach and other very nice beaches. The people there are very nice and there is a wide variety of cultures. Irvine, which is the top of my mission is only about 15 minutes away from Disneyland ( ya know, the happiest place on Earth). On top of that, there are a lot of health food lovers down there. So my allergy to Wheat will be managed really well down there 🙂 Did I mention there’s an In-n-out burger like everywhere?? woooooooo. Also, Irvine is the #1 safest place to live in the United States, so I definitely can’t complain about that! Another thing is, has a lot of wards and stakes so there be plenty of member missionaries! My mission president and his wife are amazing too!! I am following their fb page and let’s just say I cannot wait to meet them :))) Plus, the weather is basically perfect year round! I am supposed to learn as much as I can about surfing spots and stuff because that’s a good thing to know to start a conversation.

Hang loose braaaa

basically, I cannot begin to describe how excited l am for my call!

and how blessed and humbled I am to get such a call. I know that I will have to work hard.

I know that the California, Irvine Mission is exactly where I am supposed to go.

The days leading up to my call were without a doubt inspired.

My bishop told me that my call had been assigned last tuesday. I expected my call to come that friday or saturday for sure. My sister unfortunately worked all of friday and so did I. On saturday I had plans to go innertubing on the lake with friends and then to a baptism and to a brazilian bbq. But I was so sure that my call would come one of those days and I would squeeze in a time to open the call in front of my family. Both friday and saturday I woke up feeling so sick. Stomach butterflies for days. I was so anxious to see where I was going and all anyone asked me was if it had come yet. It didn’t. Every time I would check the mail there would be only a few small envelopes for my parents. I realized that no matter how bad I wanted my call at that moment. I knew that the Lord had a plan for me and the time that it would come would be the time it was meant to. No sooner. No later. I started focusing on what the Lord’s will was instead of my own. I thought that maybe this was a time where God was trying to teach me something. I have found as I grow older, that the lord is in the details of our life. Although, it may seem like a small matter, if it is important to you, the lord will be there. He can teach you lessons through all aspects of your life if you allow yourself to be intune with his spirit. My mission is where I will be for the next 18 months of my life and I wanted to make sure I was doing all I could to be worthy of that calling. So I prayed. A lot. I studied my scriptures constantly. I work on my calling in the ward. and with my family. I also studied my families history. On sunday I went to church and to the classes. When I got home I was reading talks on lds.org and I found a talk by Richard G. Scott called “How to Obtain Revelation and Inspiration for Your Personal Life”. This seemed like a great talk to read at the time. I definitely had some questions and needed some guidance. Questions surrounding many aspects of my life. A small excerpt from the talk that really affected me was:

“One of the great lessons that each of us needs to learn is to ask. Why does the Lord want us to pray to Him and to ask? Because that is how revelation is received.

When I am faced with a very difficult matter, this is how I try to understand what to do. I fast. I pray to find and understand scriptures that will be helpful. That process is cyclical. I start reading a passage of scripture; I ponder what the verse means and pray for inspiration. I then ponder and pray to know if I have captured all the Lord wants me to do. Often more impressions come with increased understanding of doctrine.”

I knew after reading that, that I was to do just that.

So, I prayed. I promised that the next day (monday) I would fast. Then I read my scriptures more diligently.

When I woke up monday morning, my stomach butterflies were gone. I felt great. I felt the spirit so strongly and there was a sense of peace that had come over me that stayed with me the rest of the day.

But thats not all,

The mail usually arrives at my house around 11 am each morning. My family and I learned this in the weeks leading up, where we would be constantly looking at the window for the mailman. So around 11 am we started looking out the window. We decided to work in the yard while we waited so that we didn’t miss it. Welllll, the mail came. At 1:30 pm. Two and a half hours later than usual. When It came we rushed to the mailbox just in time for the mail lady to pull away. There was no way my call had come. The lady stopped for a total of 2 seconds and we were almost positive the envelopes she put in were way to small. In those moments, I was so sure that I would have to wait another day. But I was totally calm. Whatever happened, I knew that it would be okay and that I could wait. I followed my mom to check the mail just because, but as she opened the mailbox here face changed. She pulled out a big white envelope! Then she looked at it and saw that it had her name on it… and that it was from her new job. Her smile dropped. Then she realized that there was another identical white envelope underneath hers that had MY NAME ON IT and was from THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER-DAY SAINTS. Her smile returned and she looked at me and then did a little happy dance. It was adorable. My heart soared and I couldn’t do anything but grin! IT CAME!

unnamed (1)

We planned to open it later that night when my siblings were all home from work and we could FaceTime them. I only wanted to open it in front of my family, and it worked out perfectly. It was small and intimate and perfect. For some reason my brother had a short day at work and was home early. My sister Erica drove down to Provo to be with him and his family. & right as they called, my other sister called saying her husband was almost home so I could open it sooner!

When I opened it, I was still completely calm. I was expecting to cry or shake because i’ve seen many mission call videos, but I just smiled.

When I read Irvine, California.

I knew, in that moment, that it was the perfect mission for me.

The spirit was there and the feeling I got when I read those words was perfect.

I know that the Lord has a plan for me and has a work for me to do in California.

I prayed that I would be happy about wherever I go, whether it was a small town in Oklahoma or a cold city in Canada. Or the hot, hot climate of Arizona.

I would know that I am not serving in a place, but in a place of the lord.

That wherever I go, it will be the people I serve.

So when I got called to California. I was awestruck. No place could be more perfect.

I won’t brag. But i mean, come on. It’s perfect.

I’m so excited to get out in the field!

& soon too, I only have about a month

I know that the lord answered my prayers and fastings.

I realized that life takes patience.

 timing is everything

many questions I had about other aspects of my life were answered with this simple answer;

Patience

I am meant to serve soon.

The other things in my life can wait.

They will still be there when I get back,

and if not, I will know that it’ll be okay.

” You will come to know that what appears today to be a sacrifice will prove instead to be the greatest investment that you will ever make”

-Gordon B. Hinckley.

I know that whatever I think I want now. can wait. That if it is meant to be, it will be. Trust in the Lord. No time is too long. 18 months is nothing in the eternal perspective.

18 months isn’t that big of a sacrifice. I can sacrifice that for my savior. He sacrificed so much more for me. He died for me. He loves me. & I love him. I will serve him with all my heart. And when the time comes I will be sad to go home. But I will know that my work there is done and the work afterward. wherever or whatever it is, will be just beginning. I will use the experiences of my mission in my life after and continue to serve him with all my heart as I grow, go to college, raise children,  have a husband, and continue on enduring to the end in the gospel.

This video is amazing. It has touched my heart so strongly. One of the strongest messages I have ever seen. I will always remember this on my mission.

Come what may, and love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

