Tender Mercies of the Lord

Today I would like to talk about tender mercies.

tendermercies

Just the word ‘Tender Mercy’ has so much emotion and meaning behind it.

But to be clear; what is a tender mercy?

A tender mercy is a timely message of comfort and reassurance from the Lord.

It is in times of grief, heartache, and stress that we come to see these tender mercies more clearly.

David A. Bednar once said: “the Lord’s tender mercies do not occur randomly or merely by coincidence. Faithfulness and obedience enable us to receive these important gifts and, frequently, the Lord’s timing helps us to recognize them.” he then says, ” We should not underestimate or overlook the power of the Lord’s tender mercies. The simpleness, the sweetness, and the constancy of the tender mercies of the Lord will do much to fortify and protect us in the troubled times in which we do now and will yet live. When words cannot provide the solace we need or express the joy we feel, when it is simply futile to attempt to explain that which is unexplainable, when logic and reason cannot yield adequate understanding about the injustices and inequities of life, when mortal experience and evaluation are insufficient to produce a desired outcome, and when it seems that perhaps we are so totally alone, truly we are blessed by the tender mercies of the Lord and made mighty even unto the power of deliverance”.

Tender mercies are a gift from the lord. It is our job to be faithful and recognize them.

Recognizing these tender mercies will bless your life. You will see blessings and happiness pouring in abundance in your life.

So, what are some tender mercies you have experienced in your life?

Whether we notice them all or not, they are there.

Tender mercies are a very personal gift from God given to YOU at the time YOU need it.

 For example, a few days ago I was in a pretty sad mood. Problems seemed to come at me like flies to fly paper. It felt like one thing after another. Like I said before, my parents has been struggling with unemployment. and just when things started to look up again, it fell apart. Life does that a lot. When it rains it pours, ya know? Nothing was working out. But I knew that these things were happening for a reason. The nice thing about trials is you gain new knowledge and understanding every time. Just like Adam & Eve, to have knowledge of good and evil, had to leave the garden. We, as humans, learn the difference of good and evil, pain and pleasure, by experiencing it through the experiences in our life. Anyway, when I felt like I couldn’t take anymore bad news, I decided to read my scriptures. I am currently in the book of Alma and the chapter I read that day was about the 2000 stripling warriors. While reading that, eventhough I’ve read it many times, I felt that it strangely connected to how I felt. The words which were said were exactly what I needed to hear. One verse that stood out to me was in Alma 56:47- when these young 2000 stripling warriors ( probably about my age), said they would go to war to defend their city for their families. It says, “Now they never had fought yet they did not fear death; and they did think more upon the liberty of their fathers than they did upon their lives; yea, they had been taught by their mothers, that if they did not doubt, God would deliver them”.

If these boys would face death for their family, I could certainly face a few trials for mine.

They believed that God would protect them, and because of their great faith.* Spoiler alert*

He does.

The faith they must’ve had is incredible.

It was after I read that, that I had this overwhelming sense of peace come over me.

During times where peace was hard to find, God calmed my soul and comforted me.

This is a tender mercy.

Tender mercies come in many forms. If we don’t pay attention, we won’t recognize them all.

So what are some things we can do to better recognize these mercies?

Pray- When we pray we draw closer to the lord. We can understand more clearly his love for us. & when we pray for an answer, with a sincere heart, an answer will come. Sometimes through tender mercies.

Count your blessings! Seriously, if you have to, write them all down. When we count our blessings we see all that the Lord has given us. Our heart is turned to the Lord in gratitude, & when our hearts are full of gratitude, we can see more clearly the beautiful blessings and mercies before us.

Heavenly Father sends us tender mercies in times of need. He also sends us the holy ghost- who comforts us

In John 14: 16 it says, “And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever”.

The holy ghost can always be with us. But we must tune our hearts to hear his voice.

Linda K. Burton talks about the gifts of the holy ghost in her talk called- “Tuning Our Hearts to the Voice of the Spirit”

She asks, How can we know if we have heard the voice of the spirit?

She then says, We might ask ourselves a few additional questions as we ponder this question:

Have I experienced feelings of love, joy, peace, patience, meekness, gentleness, faith, hope, and comfort?

Have ideas come to my mind, or feelings to my heart, that I know are from the Lord and not from me?

Have I heard my voice speaking truth without having planned what I would say?

Have I experienced a magnification of my own skills and abilities?

Have I felt guidance and protection from deception?

Have I recognized sin in my life and had the desire to correct it?

Have I felt the Spirit glorifying and bearing record of God the Father and Jesus Christ?

“If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, you have felt the Spirit of the Lord at some time in your life. But the most important question is “Can ye feel so now?”

The prophet Mormon’s counsel about following the Light of Christ can help us know how to receive the Holy Ghost. Mormon said:

“For behold, the Spirit of Christ is given to every man, that he may know good from evil; wherefore, I show unto you the way to judge; for every thing which inviteth to do good, and to persuade to believe in Christ, is sent forth by the power and gift of Christ; wherefore ye may know with a perfect knowledge it is of God.

I know that the Lord is aware of us. He knows every aspect of our life. He knows what we need. We need to trust in him and strive to notice his hand working in our life, through his tender mercies and through the holy ghost. I promise that when we acknowledge his hand in our life and live with thankfulness, that we will feel the change in our life and experience more joy and happiness.

Because “Adam fell so that man might be, and man is that he might have joy”

Find joy in your journey ❤

Also, I was able to go to the temple twice this week, with my parents!

IMG_3733 IMG_3740 11201831_10154061923008084_7108334507882757261_n

I know that the Lord’s laws never change, although the morals and laws of man may change, the Lord’s does not. I can find comfort to know that. I know that his law’s are there for a reason. & that exact obedience to those laws brings about the blessings of Heaven. I love my family and the temple 🙂

Leave a Reply

