An unexpected turn, on the correct path

It’s been a while since my last post and a lot has changed. I also haven’t changed the look of my blog in a long time so I apologize if it looks a little ghetto. But to start, I’m 20 now. I live in Provo. And as you have probably noticed, I’m back home. I came home to Washington in November  from my mission in California due to medical problems. I went to the ER out there and they couldn’t find the problem but my Liver wasn’t working correctly. Which is a big deal. So I flew home, got honorably released, and went to a bunch of doctors. I’ve talked about this before, but I think it’s true that our hardest moments are also the ones that make us strong and shape us. Coming home from my mission was a hard thing. I remember sitting in the apartment after another day of sickness. Feeling like a failure. I prayed harder than I think I ever have before. I wanted to serve the Lord. I wanted to continue being a missionary. However, more than that; I wanted to do the Lord’s Will. I trusted and had complete Faith that whatever happened the Lord had a plan for me and if I kept that Faith, things would be alright. It was still hard- but I remember after praying and praying I received a prompting & I knew without a doubt that the Lord needed me to go home. That He was proud of me and happy with my service. So I came home. I didn’t know what I was going to do when I got home- but I knew that I didn’t want to do nothing. So I started looking into my options. Within a month- everything that I felt I should do, fell into place. I felt the Lords hand in my life & knew he didn’t abandon me. The doctor gave me medicine to reverse the swelling of my face and liver and referred me to another doctor. Once that was done they didn’t really know what to do, but said I should keep living my life & hope I start feeling better. Scary. But I decided to do just that. I knew I wanted to go to Utah for College. I flew down there and stayed with some of my siblings and looked at my options. These things weren’t just handed to me. I had to work for it; but the Lord was guiding me and helping me through it. I was able to find an apartment in Provo, get a job on campus at Jamba Juice. I also, without applying, was able to take evening college classes BYU, and most important to me, have the oppurtunity to serve in the new Provo Tabernacle Temple as an ordinance worker. That was in December and now I have the oppurtunity to be an EFY Summer 2016 camp counselor!  I know the Lord is there for me. The path He had for me isnt the one I’d imagined. And in the future, it probably won’t be either. But isnt that how it works? The point of life isn’t to get what you want, take the easy way, and then die. What could we gain from that? The point is to learn, grow, stretch, break, and through the Atonement of Jesus Christ become better people for it. I know Christ lives. I know there is a plan for each and every one of us. I know that as we have Faith and Hope and Charity- everything will work out for the very best 💕

Leave a Reply

